Almost $313,000 Distributed to Coastal Counties by SOS Office

MS Gulf Coast (Gulf Coast News) – The Secretary of State’s Office is releasing $312,656.74 to 38 counties across the State, and cities and schools within those counties, representing proceeds from recent tax-forfeited property sales.

Counties receiving more than $5,000 include:

  • Bolivar—$6,568.11;
  • Claiborne—$12,866.66;
  • Forrest—$11,006.52;
  • Hancock—$5,282.35;
  • Harrison—$12,186.12;
  • Hinds—$143,952.77;
  • Humphreys—$12,511.20;
  • Jones—$7,239.43;
  • Lauderdale—$9,025.29;
  • Leflore—$5,596.47;
  • Madison—$5,914.51;
  • Pearl River—$25,513.52; and
  • Rankin—$30,347.13.

“This distribution represent 1,631 parcels which are now back in productive use in these counties. We are grateful for the partnerships we have with local government officials who help us spread the word about auctions to increase sales and decrease the State’s inventory,” Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann said.

In recent years, successful auctions in Bay St. Louis, Bolivar County, Jackson, Leflore County, McComb, Meridian, Pearl River County, Rankin County, Washington County, Waveland, Vicksburg, and Yazoo City have raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Mississippi schools, municipalities, and counties.

An online auction is currently in progress in Hinds County, with 320 parcels valued at $1.9 million for sale. Bids will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. CST on Wednesday, May 1. To place a bid, a user is required to register online. Users may view property details such as parcel location and an auction map. Other information, such as auction dates, bid notices, and market values of property are also available online. Successful bidders will be notified by e-mail as soon as possible once bids are placed, and payment of the bid amount must be paid within 5 to 7 days of notification.

Buyers are permitted to pay a “Buy It Now” price on any parcel, which allows them purchase a property immediately instead of waiting until the end of the auction.

To learn more about tax-forfeited properties, visit the Secretary of State’s website( or call the Public Lands Division at (601) 359-5156.

View Original Story